Commissioners and Staff

The Commission is composed of two county supervisorial members appointed by the Board of Supervisors, two city council members appointed by the Mayor City Selection Committee, two special district members appointed through a special district board nomination and election process, and one public member selected by the other six members. Commission members serve four-year terms. There is also one alternate member for each of the four classifications. In addition, the Commission contracts for Executive Officer staffing services to manage the day-to-day operations of the Commission.


County Members:
Estelle Fennell (Chair), 2nd District County Supervisor
Virginia Bass, 4th District County Supervisor

City Members:
Stephen Avis, City of Ferndale
Paul Pitino, City of Arcata

District Members:
Troy Nicolini, Samoa Peninsula Fire Projection District
Debra Lake, Fruitland Ridge Fire Protection District

Public Member:
Ali Lee

Alternate Members:
Mike Wilson, 3rd District County Supervisor
Sue Long, City of Fortuna
David Couch, McKinleyville CSD
Alan “Skip” Jorgensen, Public Member

Colette Metz, Executive Officer
George Williamson, Senior Advisor
Krystle Heaney, LAFCo Analyst/Clerk
Ryan Plotz, Legal Counsel