

AGENDA ITEM 6B

MEETING: May 25, 2016

TO: Humboldt LAFCo Commissioners

FROM: George Williamson, Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Status of Expiring Commissioner Terms in 2016 The Commission will receive a report regarding expiring Commissioner terms in 2016.

The Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 states the composition of Local Agency Formation Commissions (LAFCos) shall generally include seven regular members consisting of county (two), city (two), special district (two), and public (one) representation. Each category represented on LAFCo also has one alternate member. Appointments for the county, city, and special district seats are made by the board of supervisors, city selection committee, and mail ballot processed by LAFCo, respectively. Appointments for the public seats are made by the other regular members. All terms are four years.

BACKGROUND

Humboldt LAFCo has three members whose current terms are scheduled to expire in June 2016. These members are as follows:

Gordon Johnson (city) Bruce Rupp (district) Bob McPherson (public)

DISCUSSION

City Member:

In accordance with G.C. Section 56335, the Mayor City Selection Committee is responsible for appointing regular and alternate city members to LAFCo. A special meeting of the Mayor City Selection Committee for purposes of appointing a regular city member to begin a new four-year term ending June 30, 2020 is scheduled for 3:00 pm on June 16, 2016, at Eureka City Hall, Room 207. Interested mayors or city council members may provide letters of interest or other pertinent information for consideration by the Committee. The newly appointed regular city member will be seated at the July 20th meeting.

District Member:

In accordance with G.C. Section 56332, the Executive Officer is authorized to conduct a special district nomination and election process by mail. Following receipt of nominations, a mailed ballot was sent to each independent special district for purposes

of selecting a regular special district member to begin a new four-year term ending June 30, 2020. A total of 25 ballots were received prior to the election deadline as follows:

Candidate	District	Votes
	Fruitland Ridge Fire	
Debra D. Lake	Protection District	16
	Humboldt Bay Municipal	
J. Bruce Rupp	Water District	9
	Total	25

Staff has notified both candidates and has sent the election results to each special district. The newly appointed regular special district member will be seated at the July 20th meeting.

Public Member:

In accordance with G.C. Section 56325(d), the Commission is the appointing authority for public members on LAFCo. A notice for the regular public member position has been distributed to area newspapers and an application form is available on the LAFCo website. The deadline for receiving applications is June 10th.

In accordance with LAFCo policy, the Commission shall designate a special committee consisting of one county, one city, and one district member. The special committee will review applications, interview candidates, and make a recommendation prior to the Commission voting on the regular public member appointment at its July 20th meeting.

RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends the Commission: 1) certify the special district election results, and 2) designate a special committee consisting of one county, one city, and one district member for purposes of reviewing applications, interviewing candidates, and making a recommendation for the appointment of a regular public member.